Being Affirmed (1 of 5 Love Languages)

Happy Friday Eve Reader! We’re almost to the weekend! Got any exciting plans? My girls and I plan on going to see “What Men Want” starring Taraji Henson. If you don’t know who she is, google her – she plays Cookie on the hit TV show “Empire” and has starred in “Think like a Man.” Tony and I may also pop into JuneShine this weekend to try this new Poke food truck and go out on some hard kumbucha. Other than that, I still have class and I still have to gym.

When I started this blog, one of many topics I wanted to write about was our “love languages.” I will probably post about them over time as I may run into these feels and want to share with all of you including today’s post on “Words of Affirmation.” 

So for many who have not taken the love language test, there are five (5) love language:
(1) Words of Affirmation
(2) Quality Time
(3) Acts of Service
(4) Physical Touch
(5) Receiving Gifts

Gary Chapman, the author of “5 Love Languages” has transformed countless relationships with his ideas. If you haven’t taken the test yet and you’re curious as to what your love languages are, you can totally do it for free on the love languages website: Take it and let me know what your love languages rank.

“Words of Affirmation” has always fluctuated on my list between being second or third most important to understanding how I communicate. As described by Mr. Chapman, this is the language that “uses words to affirm other people.” Something as simple as giving a compliment or praising another person would be considered words of affirmation. 

I am definitely a giver of affirmation. You’ll hear me tell my close loved ones that I love and appreciate them. I’m proud of what they are doing and encourage them to do more. Even here on this blog, I do that for all of you.

In return, I love being reassured by my loved ones as well. Expressing to me verbally how much you care about me shows me that you do indeed care about me 😛 As opposed to buying me a gift. Which by the way, gift giving ranked last place on my love languages test. 

I think this specific love language has been more important to me as I got older. There’s something about my culture in which it is rare to hear “I love you” or “I’m proud of you.” I think it comes to us more into adulthood. When I was younger, my parents didn’t ever tell they loved me but it was normal. If I even said the words “I love you,” the response was typically “Uh. Are you okay? What’s wrong?” 😛

Now I tell my dad all the time that I love him and he actually responds with “I love you too.” We’ve come along way 🙂 Sometimes, when it’s vice versa and my dad tells me he loves me first, my heart is filled with warm and joy because it’s nice to hear and of course… it’s my love language!

This whole week I’ve been telling Tony that I love him more than I usually do. Not that he needs this (or maybe he does); I’ve been expressing verbally to him my reassurance on our future. I want to marry him, I want to be with him for the rest of my life, I want to grow old with him, etc. I didn’t realize I was doing that until I meditated last night and was like “Ohh… it’s been a words of affirmation kind-of-week.” 

Some ways I have communicated words of affirmation with Tony are:

  • Writing encouraging words on a post-it note (I did this even before we started dating).
  • Wrote public posts about him or to him. (Doing it here, doing on IG, Facebook, Twitter, etc).
  • Verbally communicating to him on a daily basis. 

Does any of this sound relatable to you? Are you the type of person that expresses words of affirmation onto others or likes to receive words rather than gifts? The love languages can apply to more than just your relationship with your significant other; it can be geared towards how you communicate with your friends or your colleagues. 

Side note but not really: have you guys listened to most recent “Nothing to Lose Podcast?” If you haven’t, please go listen at 

Host Joey Bellucco suggested that they do a couples’ podcast in honor of this expensive Hallmark holiday next to Christmas; Valentine’s Day. Tony & Joey: let’s take the love language tests and discuss it on the podcast; see what draws us to communicate better with one another as significant others and as friends. What do you say?!

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed reading this blog today. Take the love languages test if you’re curious. I highly suggest it as it a better way of understanding how you communicate with others around you. 

I hope you have an amazing weekend! Enjoy it with your family and friends. Go out and explore! Do awesome things and eat great food!

Until the next post,

With love and support,


Relatable + Empathetic (2019)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: